Team Stormwinds


May the winds blow in your favor!  
HomePortalLog inRegister
Welcome the new division: the Stargazers!
Please recruit as much as possible!
Be sure to make your card for the Christmas card contest!
Merry Christmas!

Share | 
 

 Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
(SW) Hurricane
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Warning : Posts : 178
Points : 392
Reputation : 1
Join date : 2012-12-15
Age : 20

PostSubject: Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1   Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:17 am

     Hey guys, it's Hurricane. Today, I've decided to start a new segment which will hopefully get each of us better at dueling. This one will be about basic rulings that we should all know, and hopefully use and abuse. Let's get started.

1. When an effect is activated then negated, you will still need to pay the cost. An example would be: Player A activates Solemn Judgment, Player B counters with Dark Bribe. Player A will still have to pay half their Life Points.

2. On the subject of costs, when a cards effect is negated, you can still pay the cost to activate the effect, but the effects won't resolve. For example: Player A has a face-up Card Trooper who's effects have been previously negate that turn by Effect Veiler. The Card Trooper can still activate its effect by paying the cost of milling 3 cards, but it will not gain 1500 ATK.

3. If a card's effect is negated, it will still be able to get its effect so long as it activates off the field. For example: Sangan is targeted by Fiendish Chain. It is then destroyed and sent to the graveyard. Its effect to search will still activate and resolve so long as nothing is chained to negate it.

4. The only effects that miss timing are effects that say "When ..... you can .....". "If" effects do not miss timing, as with mandatory effects.

5. Inherent Special Summons cannot be negated by cards that negate a monster's summon, but not its effect. For example, Solemn Judgment can't negate the summon of Judgment Dragon.

6. Cards that respond to the summon of a monster cannot be activated during the Damage Step. For example, Bottomless Trap Hole can't be activated in the response to Gorz The Emissary Of Darkness being summoned by its effect.

I hope this has helped you all out.


Last edited by (SW) Hurricane on Sat Mar 09, 2013 3:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
(SW) the-black-devil.
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
avatar

Warning : Posts : 58
Points : 121
Reputation : 4
Join date : 2012-12-19
Age : 22
Location : toronto ontario

PostSubject: Re: Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1   Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:41 am

nice topic but im sure that laggia can negate judgment dragons summon
Back to top Go down
(SW) Jetstream
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
avatar

Warning : Posts : 55
Points : 121
Reputation : 1
Join date : 2012-12-29

PostSubject: Re: Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1   Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:06 pm

(SW) the-black-devil. wrote:
nice topic but im sure that laggia can negate judgment dragons summon

Laggia can negate summons that do not start a chain, such as Cyber Dragon, Chaos Sorcerer, BLS, and the like. Judgment Dragon is included in this list. However, what it CAN'T negate are summons that occur as a resolution of an effect, such as Stardust Dragon (after Starlight Road is activated), any monster summoned by Call of the Haunted or Monster Reborn, and Tragoedia/Gorz. In the case of the former 2, you can still negate the summon by negating the Spell/Trap card before it resolves. However, Dolkka is needed to negate monsters such as Tragoedia or Gorz. ^^

tl;dr: Yeah, you're right. Laggia can negate Judgment Dragon because its summon doesn't start a chain ^^

Negates: Cyber Dragon, BLS, Chaos Sorcerer, Judgment Dragon...
Can't negate: Stardust Dragon (Negate Starlight Road instead), Any monster SS as a result of their own chainable eff (Gorz, Trag, Fader)
Back to top Go down
(SW) Hurricane
Head Admin
Head Admin
avatar

Warning : Posts : 178
Points : 392
Reputation : 1
Join date : 2012-12-15
Age : 20

PostSubject: Re: Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1   Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:58 pm

(SW) Jetstream wrote:
(SW) the-black-devil. wrote:
nice topic but im sure that laggia can negate judgment dragons summon

Laggia can negate summons that do not start a chain, such as Cyber Dragon, Chaos Sorcerer, BLS, and the like. Judgment Dragon is included in this list. However, what it CAN'T negate are summons that occur as a resolution of an effect, such as Stardust Dragon (after Starlight Road is activated), any monster summoned by Call of the Haunted or Monster Reborn, and Tragoedia/Gorz. In the case of the former 2, you can still negate the summon by negating the Spell/Trap card before it resolves. However, Dolkka is needed to negate monsters such as Tragoedia or Gorz. ^^

tl;dr: Yeah, you're right. Laggia can negate Judgment Dragon because its summon doesn't start a chain ^^

Negates: Cyber Dragon, BLS, Chaos Sorcerer, Judgment Dragon...
Can't negate: Stardust Dragon (Negate Starlight Road instead), Any monster SS as a result of their own chainable eff (Gorz, Trag, Fader)

That was actually a mind fart. I meant to say Solemn Judgment, and if you didn't notice, I edited it
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1   

Back to top Go down
 
Get Better At Dueling: Segment 1
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» [040901] Hyori - Chanel Segment
» Dueling Anyone With YGOPro
» Games Haven daily Dueling mini Tournament
» Dueling Network issue?!?
» Need a duel on dueling network

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Team Stormwinds :: General Stuff :: Off Topics-
Jump to: